The society has seven categories of Membership which are listed as follows:

Ordinary Membership: Any person having at least a Higher National Diploma or Bachelor's degree in any branch of Agriculture or engaged in agricultural extension , research, teaching or field practice shall be eligible for ordinary membership upon the payment of prescribed fees.

Life Membership: Any person who has been an ordinary member for at least five years and pay the prescribed fees shall be eligible for membership.

Associate Membership: Persons of any professional education at Graduate Level having been associated with extension and made significant contribution to the growth and development of extension profession is eligible to be honoured with the Association Membership of the society.

Honourary Fellow: Any person or organisation who has attained national and/or international reputation for his/her signification contribution in the field of holding seminars, conferences, workshops and such other activities related to agricultural extension.

Fellow of the Society: Any Member of the Society adjudged by the society to have made significant contribution to the growth and development of the Society may be conferred the fellowship of the Society.

Corporate Membership: Any organisation or agency involved in the development and practice of agricultural extension in Nigeria is eligible for corporate membership.

Student Membership: Any person undergoing a course leading to either a Bachelors degree or HND or equivalent in any branch of Agriculture shall be eligible for student membership.